MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Leaky's Pottermore First Impressions Live Blog and Review

J.K. Rowling
Posted by: Edward
August 18, 2011, 10:15 AM

This morning, Leaky was lucky enough to gain early beta access to Pottermore, J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter online reading experience.  As I go through the process of exploring Pottermore, this post will live blog my latest reactions, experiences, and discoveries.  Those who wish to wait to experience Pottermore for themselves please do read with caution as this post will contain details on the process and moments from the online experience.  A full review of Pottermore is due shortly.  Enjoy!


Live Updates:
  • Even after the first few pages and tutorials, you can tell just how much detail and how many things there are to do in Pottermore.  You can zoom in and out, up and down to find clues and info.
  • Privet Drive contains so many little elements from the story in just one image.
  • Click everything! :) 
  • Pottermore follows the story in such a way that you are introduced to places, characters, objects, etc. as they become important in the story. 
  • Even after a few days, the drawings and comments for moments and parts of the story are very high quality.   
  • Shooting stars and put-outers! 
  • Determined to transform the cat into McGonagall (I don't know if they even do that!). 
  • Friend and nicknames is a great feature.  Gives a little breakdown of their house.  Hope to run into them in the hallways :) 
  • Character bios seem to start very basic and then expand as you get deeper into the story. 
  • Four moments in Chapter 1. Now for chapter 2! 
  • Little lock images appear over red quills indicating you haven't yet unlocked the special new JKR content on the site. 
  • Electric meter numbers?  In Harry's cupboard?
  • Still can't get over the detail.  In the zoo, lights flickering, reptiles slithering around, the glass disappearing.  
  • Another great feature: You can see when your friends are in the same chapter as you. 
  • So many objects to collect for your trunk.  Very interested to see how these things add up.
  • Loving how Pottermore puts you in the story but lets you imagine the characters and moments as you remember them while reading the books.
  • Going shopping for school supplies! Never had this much fun doing this ever before. 
  • Do I want a cat a toad or an owl? 
  • A Brown Owl, it is! 
  • WAND time! 
  • The wand chooses you, of course.  Asked a series of questions about yourself.  Some are difficult to decide upon! 
  • My wand: Hawthorn with Unicorn Hair, thirteen and three quarter inches, surprisingly swishy. 
  • The detail about Mr. Ollivander is among the most fascinating yet. 
  • I wonder, if one buys a Rememberall, will it light up when you've forgotten something in the story? 
  • Even if we don't see the character in the Pottermore moment, if they were featured or introduced in the chapter se get a short bio about them. 
  • Made it to Hogwarts, now for the Sorting Hat. 
  • Lovely video from Jo pops up to speak more about the sorting ceremony. 
  • Sorting questions are HARD! 
  • Well, I have a new house. I'm a Slytherin. 
  • Have now unlocked the Common Room, Great Hall and a number of other features 
  • Exploring the Potions area.  Seeing what I can make. 
  • Should say: always considered myself a Ravenclaw.  Slytherclaw? 
  • Potions is as precise as it is in the books.   Takes skill and patience.  Great experience, perhaps soon I'll get one right!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent J.K. Rowling News

102 Comments

Noavatar-thumb

I was so worried I was going to be disappointed but it is amazing.

Posted by cozmic on August 19, 2011, 10:32 AM report to moderator
Us_and_tom_thumb
65 Points

What kinds of questions were on the sorting?

Posted by rainbowapplefizz on August 19, 2011, 04:10 PM report to moderator
Images_thumb
675 Points

Anyone from Day 4 in yet?

Posted by cb160 on August 19, 2011, 06:14 PM report to moderator
Vanishing_cabinet_thumb
1636 Points

O.o I hope I don’t get a really long wand… A smaller wand would be easier to flourish and perform spells(as nerimon on youtube had explained once before), plus I could just stash it in my pocket and it wouldn’t stick out. C:

Posted by Sara Greengrass (S Palms) on August 19, 2011, 08:48 PM report to moderator
Image_thumb
517 Points

Ughh…..I still haven’t gotten mine :/

Posted by ParisThePotterLuver on August 19, 2011, 09:17 PM report to moderator
Avatar_thumb
3339 Points

Oh no!!! I thought reading this would cheer me up, but it just makes me jealous!!!

Posted by Hermione Lovegood {SpellSky27} on August 19, 2011, 11:06 PM report to moderator
Movies_ootp_premieries_imax_001_thumb
5367 Points

Awesome. wish i would get my letter soon

Posted by Azaad Potter The Chosen One [ROAR] on August 20, 2011, 01:11 AM report to moderator
Harry_potter_seal_thumb
1466 Points

I can’t wait to get my welcome letter!!!

Posted by Jacket on August 20, 2011, 02:10 AM report to moderator
600full-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows_-part-2-screenshot_thumb
2234 Points

Thanks for the information I am solo excited!!!

Posted by maddison R-O-A-R on August 20, 2011, 04:46 AM report to moderator
600full-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows_-part-2-screenshot_thumb
2234 Points

Thanks for the information I am so excited!!!

Posted by maddison R-O-A-R on August 20, 2011, 04:55 AM report to moderator
Flowers1_thumb
441 Points

I hope they continue to send out Welcome emails everyday…increase my chances of getting in sooner!

Posted by purplehogwarts on August 20, 2011, 10:40 AM report to moderator
Together_forever_thumb
11118 Points

TT_TT no fair will try again!!

Posted by ❤Haa~Chan❤ on August 21, 2011, 03:36 AM report to moderator
Logo150nobrain_thumb
143 Points

“I hope I don’t get a really long wand”
One of the questions relates to your own height (but not nostril-width!) I’m over average height, so that may have been relevant. But, as recommended, please do answer honestly, it would be easy to manipulate your choices, but much more fun just being honest and see where that takes you. Looking back, I can see how my selections influenced the end result. The extra ‘House’ information you are given will probably help clarify things.

Posted by zonkoltd on August 21, 2011, 08:17 AM report to moderator
Vanishing_cabinet_thumb
1636 Points

@zon Good thing I’m only 5’3" then.. :P I’m 16 though, so I still have room to grow!!(but not really) D’: Don’t make fun.
Though, I’m glad they take personal things like that into consideration. It makes it seem that much more realistic and interactive.

Posted by Sara Greengrass (S Palms) on August 21, 2011, 09:47 PM report to moderator
Flowers1_thumb
441 Points

@zonkoltd

I agree that it makes it more fun to see where you end up naturally. I just wish Jo will open it up for all readers to get information about houses we are not members of and other exclusive information!

Posted by purplehogwarts on August 21, 2011, 10:25 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Apr. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!

Guess That Book

There was a dazzling flash of scarlet light and Lockhart was blasted off his feet: He flew backward off the stage, smashed into the wall, and slid down it to sprawl on the floor...[br]"Do you think he's all right?" [Hermione] squealed through her fingers.