MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

New Trailer for LEGO Harry Potter Video Game, Reviews Coming Online

Video Games
Posted by: Edward
June 25, 2010, 10:33 PM

WB and TT Games let us know that a new trailer has been released online for the LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1 -4 video game.  This launch trailer, which contains looks at all four years of the game, can be found right here in our Video Galleries.  


In addition to this, a number of comprehensive reviews for the game have made their way online, and give more information about what to expect with this game.  Eurogamer, which gives the game a 9/10, notes that:
Unlike Star Wars, Batman or Indiana Jones, Harry's adventures don't take him around the world, across a city or to other planets. Pretty much everything that happens to him happens in Hogwarts. Rather than allow this restriction to hold things back, TT Games has instead turned it to the game's advantage.  
You no longer retreat to a hub area and dip into key set-pieces one by one. Instead, Hogwarts is a gigantic, continuous gameplay area full of living detail. When it's Christmas in the story, everyone wears Santa hats. When the Dementors arrive, looking for Sirius Black, students huddle in corners, terrified. When Gilderoy Lockhart arrives at the school, gaggles of cooing girls follow him around. It's lovely and hilarious.
The Metro also finds the game quite engaging, and says, in particular, "On top of this each character has their own special equipment and abilities, such as Harry's invisibility cloak or Ron's access to Scabbers the rat. Some characters also have natural aptitudes such as Harry's broomstick-riding, Harmione's spell-casting or Hagrid's strength. And there's the new concept of making potions by finding ingredients in a level and bringing them back to a cauldron (if you get it wrong the game turns you in to a frog as punishment)."

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1 - 4 is available now in the UK, and will be released Stateside on June 29.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent Video Games News

21 Comments

Noavatar-thumb
3752 Points

Besides that the game loooks really cool can’t wait!!!

Posted by OddRavenclaw222~WBM~ on June 25, 2010, 11:23 PM report to moderator
Capture10_thumb
16258 Points

this game looks very fun.. i cant wait until it comes out tuesday :)

Posted by Gryffindor1991 {ROAR!!!} on June 26, 2010, 12:01 AM report to moderator
Image
1479 Points

awesome! i pre ordered it

Posted by magicmaniac on June 26, 2010, 02:34 AM report to moderator
Jacques_tati_hulot1_thumb
2421 Points

lmao “the game turns you into a frog as a punishment” I’d like to see that!

Posted by Mr. Brightside on June 26, 2010, 04:04 AM report to moderator
Images_thumb
507 Points

Cool :) too bad i don’t have a ps3 or xbox I’ll just have to buy it for nintendo

Posted by IloveDobby on June 26, 2010, 06:21 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
217 Points

awesome! I can’t wait to play it.

Posted by ravenclaw_girl42 on June 26, 2010, 11:27 AM report to moderator
Hpdh_thumb
3777 Points

im really interested to be fang to be honest

Posted by ZachBlack [ROAR] on June 26, 2010, 11:52 AM report to moderator
Samus_thumb
3208 Points

It seems like they’ve worked really hard to make this the best it can be. Can’t wait till Tuesday!

Posted by Jaclyn {WBM} on June 26, 2010, 02:28 PM report to moderator
Morse_telegrapher_thumb
562 Points

With such rave reviews, I am looking forward to a new video game for the first time in years. My last game infatuation was “Blazing Angels” when I got my PS3. I really hate all the mindless violence games that clutter up store shelves. It will be nice to have a go at a game requiring observation and contemplation!

Posted by Phoenix1946 on June 26, 2010, 02:56 PM report to moderator
Me_at_hogwarts_thumb
478 Points

eep!!! cant waait!!!

Posted by ProfessorAlice on June 26, 2010, 03:31 PM report to moderator
Avatars_books_house_sep_001_thumb
52 Points

Sounds and looks brilliant! Can’t wait to get my hands on it. :)

Posted by DFTBAwkward on June 26, 2010, 04:55 PM report to moderator
Draco_malfoy_lego__thumb
56 Points

I’m so happy!!!! I really loved Lego Batman but I could definitely tell there were some problems with it, but I’m so thrilled that this game is going to be so amazing!!!!! I can’t wait!!!! 8DDDDD

Posted by Kaitousblackwings on June 26, 2010, 05:08 PM report to moderator
Epjpegutil31_thumb
4208 Points

This game sounds great!I am going to have to buy a Wii.

Posted by Fresca ROAR on June 26, 2010, 05:25 PM report to moderator
Hpphotoshop_thumb
4138 Points

This game looks great!!!

Posted by Calum Wilson (RuneDream54) on June 26, 2010, 05:37 PM report to moderator
Gryffcutie_thumb
835 Points

I like the way it looks. I think the graphics look awesome and I can’t wait to own it and play it! It’s going to rock!

Posted by Gryffindor Cutie on June 26, 2010, 11:43 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!

Guess That Book

"Hey, Potter, how's your scar feeling?" called Malfoy. "Sure you don't need a lie-down? It must be, what, a whole week since you were in the hospital wing, that's a record for you, isn't it?"

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!