MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Variety Review of Half-Blood Prince: Indispensable Rickman Delivers

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
July 05, 2009, 04:33 PM

Variety has now posted their review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and it contains much praise for the sixth installment in the Harry Potter film series. Noting that director David Yates "displays noticeably increased confidence here, injecting more real-world grit into what began eight years ago as purest child's fantas," and has made a film that is "film is clear-headed and clean-lined."

The long review notes the physical changes of the cast, but does hand praise to the efforts of the adult cast members in particular making mention of the actor who plays Professor Slughorn, saying "Jim Broadbent, who makes a terrific disguised entrance and is then simply grand as the eccentric old prof." Of note however are remarks about the performance of a critical character in the film.

"It's this chapter in the Potter saga that obliges the always nasty but ambiguously motivated Severus Snape to show his true colors, and the indispensable Rickman delivers, as always, with line readings that are delicacies of the infinitely mordant kind. He is periodically egged on by the insidious Bellatrix Lestrange, a role Helena Bonham Carter plays with such mesmerizing abandon that one hopes the role fully pays off in the final chapter.

Among the always outstanding production values and top-drawer visual effects, special note should be made of series newcomer Bruno Delbonnel's exceptionally atmospheric cinematography and Nicholas Hooper's emotionally churning score, which contains only the slightest trace of John Williams' original themes.


Thanks Taylor!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

81 Comments

Dsc08588_thumb
2976 Points

Awesome! I don’t know what the whole review is like, but at least the parts you quoted are great! Especially since they point out Alan in particular…well, how could they not :)

Posted by Jade Danielle (WBM) on July 06, 2009, 12:27 AM report to moderator
Tamy_129_thumb
2169 Points
Michael Gambon might be a good actor be he totally sucks as Dumbledore. Rupert is the most talented among the youngsters. Rickman is an awesome Snape indeed.
Posted by Tamyris on July 06, 2009, 12:39 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb

I had to laugh at the critic’s corroboration of the crazy canon, viz “the brilliant Hermione unaccountably loves the comparatively slow-witted Ron”. I guess anyone who walks out of the movie holding to the view that Hermione’s attraction to Ron is unfathomable will be instructed to “go back and watch it again”. :-)

Bonnie Wright’s “plain Jane Ginny” appears to be the complete opposite of her canon counterpart … so yes, a much better chance for the character to ‘grow on us’ this time around!

Posted by madbrad on July 06, 2009, 12:47 AM report to moderator
Normal_hp_actors_thumb
439 Points

I think everyone fits their character’s. I think he was giving Bonnie a hard time. In the movies they make her look drab sometimes in her clothing, but in real life she is not plain jane to me.

Also nothing Dan can do about his height. Even he has made it known that he will like to grow more. At least he isn’t the shortest, that goes to Devon Murray. If anything Matthew Lewis and Alfie Enoches left everyone in the dust when it comes to height.

Posted by CandyCane2304 on July 06, 2009, 01:24 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
751 Points

Alan Rickman and Helena Bonham Carter are perfect as Snape and Bellatrix! I’m definitely looking forward to seeing them in the sixth film, especially Spinner’s End!

Posted by treacletartftw on July 06, 2009, 01:25 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
865 Points

Again, this only increases the excitement!

Posted by RavenSmith {[WBM]} on July 06, 2009, 01:50 AM report to moderator
Yuleball29wd_thumb
139 Points

Alan Rickman and Helena Bonham Carter are TERRIFIC! I just love the cast the way it is, and I’m glad they made the right choices and didn’t make any huge mistakes like Summit Entertainment did with “Twilight”

Posted by Half-blood Princess on July 06, 2009, 01:59 AM report to moderator
B9ce557d1547686c_thumb
2573 Points

He embodies Snape better than any other could have.

Posted by ErinM {Roar} on July 06, 2009, 01:59 AM report to moderator
Default_thumb
37 Points

God! I love Alan Rickman, I mean, as a actor, haha!

Posted by TheYoungWizard on July 06, 2009, 02:45 AM report to moderator
Thistletopiary_thumb
738 Points

This certainly should be Rickman’s film in which to shine; Snape is, after all, “The Half-Blood Prince” of the title. Looking forward to a much fuller role for him in this one, and the last (two).

Posted by bettb [ITC!] on July 06, 2009, 02:50 AM report to moderator
Harry-potter-voldemort-thumb_normal_thumb
1091 Points

snape is the best!!

Posted by LoSushi! [[ ROAR ]] on July 06, 2009, 03:25 AM report to moderator
Img_44501_thumb
4151 Points

yayyy! so awesome. so excited for the movie!!

Posted by mai {beatnik owl} on July 06, 2009, 03:29 AM report to moderator
Rainingmen_thumb
141 Points

EXCELLENT review! I already have my tickets for the midnight showing – so. can’t. wait!!!!!

Posted by BwaySaint on July 06, 2009, 03:33 AM report to moderator
Got-hogwarts_houses_thumb
10268 Points

I agree that Alan Rickman totally owns the part of Snape, & I sincerely hope that they give him way more screen time in the last 3 movies than he’s gotten in the first 5. For my money Snape is the most interesting character in the whole series simply because of the brilliant way in which JKR walked the knife-edge of ambiguity with his development. (Not that she totally fooled us all – I take great pride in the fact that I correctly figured out his ulterior motive even before the SWM scene! “Always…”) But I disagree about Helena Bonham-Carter being properly cast. I can’t get past the fact that she is WAY too young for the role. If Bellatrix met her husband while a Hogwarts student, she would be close in age to Voldemort himself – mid-60s at the time of our story. So the punk makeup & hair & sexy tattered bondage garb just don’t work for me, somehow.

Posted by WeenyOwl {The Human Deluminator} on July 06, 2009, 03:51 AM report to moderator
El_trio_thumb
52 Points

OMG im just cant wait!!! i wanna see the moviee!

Posted by dianis0813 on July 06, 2009, 04:48 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"Hello, dear," she said. "First time at Hogwarts? Ron's new, too."[br]She pointed at the last and youngest of her sons. He was tall, thin, and gangling, with freckles, big hands and feet, and a long nose.

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!