MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Variety Review of Half-Blood Prince: Indispensable Rickman Delivers

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
July 05, 2009, 04:33 PM

Variety has now posted their review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and it contains much praise for the sixth installment in the Harry Potter film series. Noting that director David Yates "displays noticeably increased confidence here, injecting more real-world grit into what began eight years ago as purest child's fantas," and has made a film that is "film is clear-headed and clean-lined."

The long review notes the physical changes of the cast, but does hand praise to the efforts of the adult cast members in particular making mention of the actor who plays Professor Slughorn, saying "Jim Broadbent, who makes a terrific disguised entrance and is then simply grand as the eccentric old prof." Of note however are remarks about the performance of a critical character in the film.

"It's this chapter in the Potter saga that obliges the always nasty but ambiguously motivated Severus Snape to show his true colors, and the indispensable Rickman delivers, as always, with line readings that are delicacies of the infinitely mordant kind. He is periodically egged on by the insidious Bellatrix Lestrange, a role Helena Bonham Carter plays with such mesmerizing abandon that one hopes the role fully pays off in the final chapter.

Among the always outstanding production values and top-drawer visual effects, special note should be made of series newcomer Bruno Delbonnel's exceptionally atmospheric cinematography and Nicholas Hooper's emotionally churning score, which contains only the slightest trace of John Williams' original themes.


Thanks Taylor!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

81 Comments

2vbx3b5_thumb
510 Points

I’m having a hard time understanding how Dan being shorter than the rest of the cast has anything to do with his performance or the quality of this film what so ever. This is at least the third review/article for HBP that the writer has made a comment regarding Dan’s height. Still I’m happy about the praise for Alan and Helena. They certainly more than deserve it. I’m so excited for HBP especially after watching the HBO First Look at it yesterday which looked amazing.

Posted by bella vita on July 05, 2009, 09:59 PM report to moderator
Eeyorescrollsparky_thumb
444 Points

Alan Rickman is good (well, great) in everything he does. So it’s not surprising that he’s excellent as Snape in this one. My only fear was that they hadn’t shown enough of him to bring out how important his character is in this movie.

Ten more days! I have my tickets and I’m SOOOOOOO ready.

Posted by Eeyore on July 05, 2009, 10:02 PM report to moderator
148706_thumb
1578 Points

I am so pleased that Alan Rickman received rave reviews, they are very much deserved. He is the only actor who could ever play Snape imo. I have a been a huge fan of his since Die Hard, but even if I wasn’t, his portrayal of Snape would have made me a fan. Someone mentioned Spinner’s End and I just saw photos of Snape in his home and it looks perfect and Rickman looks wonderful. I am so excited…..

Posted by Snape's Half-Blood Princess on July 05, 2009, 10:08 PM report to moderator
Dobbyyoda_thumb
2404 Points

Pretty glowing review.

Posted by bookishgal,OoM3,GS on July 05, 2009, 10:12 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb

its amazing that we have been able to get all these amzing actors to be in one film series it really shows people how good our birtish actors are!

Posted by granger_malfoy on July 05, 2009, 10:19 PM report to moderator
Buckbeak_thumb
75566 Points

Rickman has made Snape into a truly believable bad guy – a detestable Snape.

Posted by Girlraven1 on July 05, 2009, 10:24 PM report to moderator
Images_thumb
523 Points

One of the true strengths of the HP saga in the movies is the skill of these seasoned actors and actresses. The ever lovely Alan Rickman is the embodiment of Snape. I am glad that Variety thinks Jim Broadbent has done a fine job as well. I have seen him in several different roles and if he can bring to Slughorn what he did at Bridget Jone’s dad, he should be excellent.

I still have my doubts about Michael Gambon, but the kick a— DD we see in the cave previews might just prove me wrong.

And sorry that Dan isn’t tall enough for the reviewer. His strength is not in his stature, but his ability to get inside Harry’s head. : P

Posted by Rhiannon on July 05, 2009, 10:36 PM report to moderator
36090_413317180969_787035969_4440390_4514136_n_thumb
7239 Points

Wonderful review! And so on the money!
this is gonna be one spectacular movie…and I’m already ticketed for
two showings!
WOO HOO!

Posted by Confederate Lady [CL, Rawwrrrr] on July 05, 2009, 10:40 PM report to moderator
Thecave_thumb
433 Points

Though I’m happy Variety enjoyed the movie, I expected more from the review on the younger actors besides “Tom Felton is tall,” “Emma Watson is Hot!” and “Dang, Dan Radcliffe is short!” I really would have liked to hear more about their performances.

What is nice is that McCarthy also wrote the review for OotP in 2007, so it’s interesting to compare and contrast what he had to say about that film. He really seemed to enjoy HBP more than OotP, which has me excited, because it took me several viewings before I really appreciated that film. So Yay!

Posted by mollywobble on July 05, 2009, 10:53 PM report to moderator
Kreacher_thumb

Rickman always seems to give a very good performance, remember him from Die Hard. He plays a villian so good. He would have made a great he who must not be named also.

I just hope that HBP is a much better movie than OOTP which I thought was terrible. T for Trool.

Posted by OldZeke on July 05, 2009, 11:12 PM report to moderator
Kreacher_thumb

Rickman always seems to give a very good performance, remember him from Die Hard. He plays a villian so good. He would have made a great he who must not be named also.

I just hope that HBP is a much better movie than OOTP which I thought was terrible. T for Trool.

Posted by OldZeke on July 05, 2009, 11:20 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
256 Points

I’m so happy to hear a good review, it makes me even more excited for the movie!!

Posted by WolfyWizard on July 05, 2009, 11:45 PM report to moderator
The_one__colored_by_burdge_bug_thumb
7475 Points

Alan Rickman will always get good reviews, coz he’s amazing.
I think Maggie smith will do well in this if they keep her in the right scenes.
Helena Bonham Carter seems like the perfect Bellatrix

Posted by Luce-Lupin !~ROAR~! on July 06, 2009, 12:01 AM report to moderator
21_thumb
98 Points

Alan Rickman is the reason i bought advanced tickets, hahaha:]

Posted by Olivia on July 06, 2009, 12:13 AM report to moderator
Kreacher_thumb

Rickman always seems to give a very good performance, remember him from Die Hard. He plays a villian so well. He would have made a great he who must not be named also.

I just hope that HBP is a much better movie than OOTP which I thought was terrible. T for Trool.

Posted by OldZeke on July 06, 2009, 12:26 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"They don't know we're not allowed to use magic at home. I'm going to have a lot of fun with Dudley this summer...."

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!