MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Variety Review of Half-Blood Prince: Indispensable Rickman Delivers

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
July 05, 2009, 04:33 PM

Variety has now posted their review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and it contains much praise for the sixth installment in the Harry Potter film series. Noting that director David Yates "displays noticeably increased confidence here, injecting more real-world grit into what began eight years ago as purest child's fantas," and has made a film that is "film is clear-headed and clean-lined."

The long review notes the physical changes of the cast, but does hand praise to the efforts of the adult cast members in particular making mention of the actor who plays Professor Slughorn, saying "Jim Broadbent, who makes a terrific disguised entrance and is then simply grand as the eccentric old prof." Of note however are remarks about the performance of a critical character in the film.

"It's this chapter in the Potter saga that obliges the always nasty but ambiguously motivated Severus Snape to show his true colors, and the indispensable Rickman delivers, as always, with line readings that are delicacies of the infinitely mordant kind. He is periodically egged on by the insidious Bellatrix Lestrange, a role Helena Bonham Carter plays with such mesmerizing abandon that one hopes the role fully pays off in the final chapter.

Among the always outstanding production values and top-drawer visual effects, special note should be made of series newcomer Bruno Delbonnel's exceptionally atmospheric cinematography and Nicholas Hooper's emotionally churning score, which contains only the slightest trace of John Williams' original themes.


Thanks Taylor!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

81 Comments

Noavatar-thumb
276 Points

Positive reviews are nice to read. I canĀ“t believe I will see THE MOVIE in 10 days. :)

Posted by Fonty on July 05, 2009, 09:17 PM report to moderator
Me_melissaa_thumb
515 Points

Rickman is so good sometimes when I’m reading the books I actual picture him in my head. He absolutely embodies Snape. I can’t wait for the Spinner’s End scene. I hope they leave it in!

Posted by wisemar on July 05, 2009, 09:27 PM report to moderator
Harryhermione_thumb
144 Points

cant wait for the movie only 8 days left for me yay!

Posted by hermiones on July 05, 2009, 09:27 PM report to moderator
Harryhermione_thumb
144 Points

i have already got my tickets to see it in cinemas i bought them a week ago yay!

Posted by hermiones on July 05, 2009, 09:28 PM report to moderator
Harryhermione_thumb
144 Points

is it me or is everyone going to watch this movie at least twice in cinemas if its good??

Posted by hermiones on July 05, 2009, 09:28 PM report to moderator
Capture10_thumb
16258 Points

I think Alan Rickman and Helena Bonham Carter are perfect as Snape and Bellatrix.

Posted by Gryffindor1991 {ROAR!!!} on July 05, 2009, 09:29 PM report to moderator
Harryhermione_thumb
144 Points

alan rickman is a superb actor he just keeps delivering and the movies in which i have seen him in are always so diverse and different and he plays such prominent and different characters in each of them and seems so convincing…he is someone to inspire of being like….a great actor :)

Posted by hermiones on July 05, 2009, 09:31 PM report to moderator
Epjpegutil31_thumb
4208 Points

The movie and the cast are going to be great! Rickman and Bonham carter make great adversaries.

Posted by Fresca ROAR on July 05, 2009, 09:32 PM report to moderator
Harryhermione_thumb
144 Points

yes i agree with some of you alan and helena and maggie smith are some of the great actors in harry potter,…in that film its like a complete mixture oof great actors…i wish i could be apart of it

Posted by hermiones on July 05, 2009, 09:33 PM report to moderator
Hbp_poster_two_thumb
3048 Points

I cannot wait to see the performance that Alan Rickman delivers in this movie, as the Half-Blood Prince is the installment in which he plays the most indispensible role.

Posted by Kirk on July 05, 2009, 09:34 PM report to moderator
Closeupoftriohbp_thumb
478 Points

The excitment is building up for this movie! Can’t wait to see it. The reviews are great! Ten more days!

Posted by beewell on July 05, 2009, 09:38 PM report to moderator
Kit_thumb
288 Points

Another good review! YEA!

Posted by Fereverto on July 05, 2009, 09:38 PM report to moderator
Hagrid_thumb
165 Points

Rickman has such finesse with Snape. Though the ending is now known, Rickman can still deliver the doubt with Snape’s loyalties.

Posted by biiigbob on July 05, 2009, 09:41 PM report to moderator
Upclose_of_me_thumb
3271 Points

AWESOME!! I’m so excited to see Rickman again playing Snape… he is my all-time favorite character for the books and movies! :)

Posted by Half-Blood Princess66[ROAR!] on July 05, 2009, 09:48 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
43 Points

No one could do Snape the way Alan Rickman does. He is perfect for that kind of part and I truly adore his portrayal. I don’t mean to extenuate the man in any way, but I really do think the likes of Michael Gambon, Jim Broadbent, David Thewlis, Maggie Smith, Timothy Spall and Helena Bonham Carter are probably all slightly “better” actors if you regard their entire respective body of work throughout the years.

Regarding the youngsters I have always been of the opinion that Tom Felton is more promising than all the rest put together, and that has absolutely nothing to do with Dan Radcliffe’s height.

Posted by sachem on July 05, 2009, 09:58 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

Harry had suddenly gone into a spectacular dive, which drew gasps and cheers from the crowd. Hermione stood up, her crossed fingers in her mouth, as Harry streaked toward the ground like a bullet.[br] "You're in luck, Weasley, Potter's obviously spotte

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!