MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

More Half-Blood Prince Reviews: Guardian Three Stars out of Five, More

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
July 04, 2009, 03:57 PM

Over the past few weeks, screenings for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Place for the press have taken place world wide. A few more early reviews are beginning to trickle online, with articles from the Guardian and UK tabloid the Sun now online.

The Sun gives glowing, while sometimes vague remarks in their article, praising the use of comedy and romance (Hogwarts is Snogwarts!) and giving kudos to Bonnie Wright as Ginny, and Hero Fiennes-Tiffin (Young Voldemort). The piece summarizes "Rather than giving us a series of computer-generated action sequences (yawn again), Yates has gone for careful character development, building to a dramatic crescendo. And that is the biggest surprise of all - The Half-Blood Prince is masterful."

While still generally postive, a more subdued review can be found in the Guardian which gave the film three stars out of five. The bottom line reads: "Putatively winsome all this [romance] may be, but what it actually does is throw the series' biggest weakness into sharp relief: film-making can (and does) control pretty much everything – except how the cute juvenile leads grow up. Still, director David Yates knows how to play all the cards. Although a touch ungainly, his film is solidly constructed, with lots of fine effects. If, as Potter approaches his final confrontation with Voldemort, the wizardly battles begin to resemble Lord of the Rings, it's hardly a handicap; this is tried and tested cinematic language, and does all it needs.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

45 Comments

Epjpegutil31_thumb
4208 Points

The Guardian is like our local paper. If the reviews are awful, the film or play is usually really good. if the reviewer loves it, it is usually pretty awful!

Posted by Fresca ROAR on July 05, 2009, 10:37 AM report to moderator
Owl_watermelon_thumb
1242 Points

As Moose_Starr said, a movie reviewer simply expresses his/her individual opinion. In the case of Transformers, the audience has the last word on whether a film is “good”, by spending money to see it in the theaters. We, the fans, have a closer connection to this movie than the average movie-goer, so we may feel slighted when reviews aren’t wholly positive of it, but we’ll still see it.

Posted by Lucia Meadows on July 05, 2009, 11:08 AM report to moderator
Cropped_thumb
2866 Points

From the moment I became HP fan , I made myself not to believe to everything that’s written in the press!!
Journalists some time write their own opinione and even don’t think about the feelings of people who would read their article!!!
Yeah, from the first moment I have read HBP I gessed that alot of ,,not so understanding,, people will say that it had spoiled,some of people won’t be able understand what is going on and that there wounld be a lot of “WHYs?”
I have prepared myself to everything and I know exactly one thing
for me IT DOESN"T PLAIES ANY SENSE WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT HP BOOKS< FILMS< ACTORS I LIKE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by ~ Asi ~ on July 05, 2009, 02:39 PM report to moderator
Thecave_thumb
433 Points

Starlesswinter, I understand what you’re saying about relationships in the series. However, I’m trying to remember where in the books Harry says he loves Ginny or that they were soulmates. He obviously cared for her, and their time together meant a lot to him and his happiness. Was it love at the time? Probably not, but it still meant enough that her face was the last thing he saw before he “died.” JK. Rowling isn’t Stephanie Meyer. Harry and Ginny never called each other soulmates after a week of dating. Their lust probably developed into love long after the war was over. Isn’t that how most relationships start?

As for critics (I’m not commenting towards any one poster now), their words do have merit. The success of the second Transformer movie only proves that people wanted to see it, not whether they enjoyed it. In fact, it’s possible that the new Ice Age movie could actually beat it this weekend, so obviously not everyone wanted to see it a second time. So HBP’s initial success will not be based on what critics think, but it’s long term success could. Word of mouth is important if you want to stay number 1 for more than a week.

Posted by mollywobble on July 05, 2009, 03:30 PM report to moderator
Harry_snl_thumb
3134 Points

Snogwarts … heh heh.

Noavatar-thumb
1410 Points

Still laughing about “Snogwarts” … Hehe.
This movie is going to be amazing! 8-)

Posted by AccioAmanda ☆WBM☆ on July 05, 2009, 09:54 PM report to moderator
36090_413317180969_787035969_4440390_4514136_n_thumb
7239 Points

I always reserve my true feelings, until I see the movie….reviews are “personal opinions”…no matter how well written or “unbiased” they wish to be….

I’ll make up my own mind. But I have to say, things are looking pretty good!
10 more days….YAHOO!

Posted by Confederate Lady [CL, Rawwrrrr] on July 05, 2009, 10:54 PM report to moderator
018734281a3970190750b972929570l_normal_thumb
2408 Points

These reviews were pretty fair enough I’ve no idea why people are suddenly getting up in arms about them. They seemed pretty on the mark when you look at them objectively. I think were still on course for a very good movie. Can’t wait for Total Film’s review, it’s the one I usually count on

Posted by KiwiMcI on July 06, 2009, 12:06 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb

Hi Potter fans.

I’ve posted a fairly positive review of Half-Blood Prince on my website, thought you might like to read it:
http://www.theshiznit.co.uk/review/harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince.php

Apologies if you think this is spam, but it’s hard to try and compete with the big names like The Guardian and The Sun! Plus I go into much more detail than they do! Hope you enjoy the review, and the film!

Thanks,
TheShiznit.co.uk

Posted by theshiznit on July 06, 2009, 03:07 AM report to moderator
Thecave_thumb
433 Points

Sorry kid, but the fact that you call yourself and your blog the “shiznit” pretty much guarantees that I won’t take your opinion seriously.

Posted by mollywobble on July 06, 2009, 03:40 AM report to moderator
Normal_dh_onset_londonday2_08_thumb
791 Points

snogwarts
lol.

Posted by DanielleD on July 06, 2009, 08:26 AM report to moderator
Ronhermione_thumb
4452 Points

it should be getting 5/5. film critics often hate big movies. and they luv there character development

Img_4556_thumb
44049 Points

I’ll probably agree about the 3 out of 5 once I see the movie I fear.

Posted by Dolemite [FTC!] on July 06, 2009, 04:04 PM report to moderator
Icondude_thumb
150 Points

So now character development is a bad thing?

What is the world coming to?

Posted by starlesswinter on July 08, 2009, 06:51 AM report to moderator
Kc_lucius1_thumb
4007 Points

snogwarts…..5 stars definitely…..

Posted by KC Nox on July 10, 2009, 10:42 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

"Where d'you reckon they're going to sleep? We could offer [Krum] a space in our dormitory, Harry... I wouldn't mind giving him my bed, I could kip on a camp bed."[br]Hermione snorted.