MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Half-Blood Prince Game Released, Reviews and Game Clips Now Online

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
June 30, 2009, 02:15 PM

Attention fans! The Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince video game is now available here in the US. As such a few reviews are now online, notably from IGN which gives mixed marks for the various platforms of the game (very low to the DS, fairly good to PS3, XBox360). While there are plenty of spoilers in the articles, the reviewer for the PS3 points out:

"If you've read the books, you know what those bad things are, and if you haven't, this game really isn't going to explain what's going on. See, rather than have you play through the events of the movie, Half-Blood Prince just kind of uses them as touchstones. Sure, you'll participate in the big battles and see videogame cutscenes depicting key moments, but these events won't really be properly explained nor will they carry the appropriate impact. You're not here to play the movie; you're here to live in the movie's universe...the story-related stuff can be polished off in about four or five hours, but there's going to be a lot left to do for Harry Potter nuts or people who are Trophy/Achievement whores (see: me). See, the game has 150 Hogwarts crests hidden throughout the school...this ability to explore also rewards you with seeing things you never would've if you just played the game strictly by the numbers. Although there's no reason to do it in terms of the game's tale, you can go into the Charms classroom and see Flitwick as well as climb high into the Owlery. Locations such as these don't serve a purpose other than a dose of fan service and I'm all about that.

Be sure to check out a whole host of videos showing game excerpts via this link. The Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince now available at game retailers here in the US everywhere.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

27 Comments

Ravenclaw_thumb
783 Points

hey I haven’t really seen ads on tv for this game..they really should since its gonna be so greatt :) all I’ve been seeing is the Transformers game blah

Posted by Mary11_hplvr*WBM* on June 30, 2009, 06:25 PM report to moderator
Picture_1_thumb
1698 Points
need. money! i was going to get the DS game and the Wii game but now the DS game sounds like crap.
Posted by HollyHogwarts *Roar* on June 30, 2009, 06:30 PM report to moderator
P1010630_thumb
2417 Points

cool – wish I had Wii

Posted by Hagrid 713 (ROAR) on June 30, 2009, 07:52 PM report to moderator
Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:36 AM report to moderator
4pchrmb_thumb
459 Points

Will this be $60 for consoles?

Posted by lupinwandcaster on July 01, 2009, 02:42 AM report to moderator
Avatars_books_bookart_jun_002_thumb
246 Points

I’m going to buy it in about an hour, it’s going to be awesome!!

Posted by ElVampiro9878 on July 01, 2009, 02:47 AM report to moderator
282600_233804939987291_100000733600249_807455_78180_n_thumb
3031 Points

im getting right when i get out of work and going home to play it,

Posted by Horcruxalej on July 01, 2009, 03:02 AM report to moderator
Ravenclaw_thumb
783 Points

dang I’m not a gamer, so I have Zero gaming systems, but I want a Wii just to play Harry Potter :/

Posted by Mary11_hplvr*WBM* on July 01, 2009, 03:25 AM report to moderator
Ipod-harry_thumb
804 Points

Im going to get the wii version in a little bit. It is going to be awesome!

Posted by Justinbro ROAR!!! on July 01, 2009, 03:55 AM report to moderator
Frangipani_flowers_thumb
16832 Points

It looks so amazing! I can’t wait to play it!

Posted by gingersnape on July 01, 2009, 04:12 AM report to moderator
1393057603281_thumb
22029 Points

the game… cool… do they have it for PCs???

Rupert_icon_thumb
491 Points

i wish they still made games for Playstation 1!!! my mom won’t let me get a PS3 so i can’t buy this game.. :(

Posted by megan_702*ROAR* on July 01, 2009, 07:15 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
523 Points

got it at 12:20 am on June 30 and just finished the story part of the game. It is amazing!

Posted by Jennibelle on July 01, 2009, 07:33 AM report to moderator
Avatar_nerd_thumb
3908 Points

I just finished the story line part of the game, it was amazing! Although, if I have to duel one more Death Eater . . .

Posted by Imperiused! on July 01, 2009, 08:22 AM report to moderator
Ph191_thumb
83 Points

uggggh. Well, this sucks. I only have a DS! w/e, it’s not like i’m a major gamer anyway. You have to remember that the people running websites like IGN are people who are REALLY into gaming. So, of course they’re gonna think more harshly about the games. But, as for me, I’m still getting that DS game. although, i do wish i had a Wii..:l

Posted by PotterYay on July 01, 2009, 11:24 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

"How did you get away?" asked Harry in amazement...[br]"Couple of Stunners, a Disarming Charm, Neville brought off a really nice little Impediment Jinx," said Ron airily... "But Ginny was best, she got Malfoy -- Bat Bogey Hex -- it was superb, his whole f

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Apr. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!