MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Early Review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Now Online

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
June 27, 2009, 02:50 AM

A staffer at Hollywood.com attended an earlyl screening today of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and has now posted his review online. A very positive review, the author even titles the piece "Mr. Potter, Meet Mr. Oscar." The reviewer writes he was not a huge fan of the series before, however now:
  "stand back because now the Potter-loving beast in me has been unleashed after having witnessed a film that was not only exquisite in its production values, but was also charming, funny, scary, enchanting, moving (stop me, the adjectives could go on and on) and dare I say, sexy. Brilliantly directed by David Yates (he directed 2007’s Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix), Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a tour-de-force that combines style and substance, special effects and heart and most importantly great performances from all of the actors young and not-so-young.

Daniel Radcliffe, Harry Potter himself, has evolved into a really fine young actor who gives the film its emotional core. However, if Radcliffe is the heart, Michael Gambon is the film’s soul as Albus Dumbledore; Gambon gives a powerfully subtle performance as the de-facto father figure to young Mr. Potter. Of course, the always great Alan Rickman gives another menacingly creepy and memorable turn as the evil and duplicitous Severus Snape. The cinematography, music, set design and costumes are all amazing, and the film has a truly rich look to it reminiscent of the best of the old-school Hollywood epics.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

40 Comments

Normal_movies_officialimages_lunaspectre_001_thumb
202 Points

I am really excited…although this reviewer does not sound like a fan of the series, and as we all know- the fans are the hardest to please! Personally I am still a little nervous about the Harry/Ginny kiss… I hope they do it right!

Posted by HPHealer on June 28, 2009, 09:02 AM report to moderator
Myleaky_avie_2_thumb
354 Points

Wow, that’s really fantastic! It’s less than three weeks away now!

Posted by Hermionegirl on June 28, 2009, 09:06 AM report to moderator
Playermodel
346 Points

i wish i was the press.

Posted by jonfrog {ROAR} on June 28, 2009, 09:20 AM report to moderator
Upclose_of_me_thumb
3271 Points

YAY! Its getting closer now….

Posted by Half-Blood Princess66[ROAR!] on June 28, 2009, 09:43 AM report to moderator
Thecave_thumb
433 Points

What’s interesting is Paul Dergarabedian, the author, is a box office analyst. This was written for his blog (click on his name in the story). He’s known for stating the blatently obvious like, “Fans of the Alien and Predator movies will like Alien vs. Predator.” So he’s really not a movie critic (and I don’t think he intended this to be consider a formal review, just his opinion), but he has been around the industry for 16 years. I’m sure he knows when a movie is crap or not. I’m happy he liked it. Normally no one confuses “Potential oscar blockbuster” with a really bad movie. So yay!

Posted by mollywobble on June 28, 2009, 10:03 AM report to moderator
Picture_1_thumb
2333 Points

im glad he didnt say it was horrible….but since he wasnt a hardcore fan i dont know how well informed of the book he is….most hp fans will judge off of that….but still i cant wait!!!

Posted by theREALGinnyWeasley on June 28, 2009, 10:18 AM report to moderator
12440441_thumb
19573 Points

I don’t know if I want to read this… I don’t want too know too much of the film!!

Posted by R-for-H {ROAR} :D on June 28, 2009, 10:19 AM report to moderator
100000075706576_thumb
353 Points

This is really exciting news!!. it makes me even more excited for this film (thought I don’t know how that is possible, actually… : ) ). Sounds like this one will be the best one yet!

Posted by lunalove678 {WBM} on June 28, 2009, 10:20 AM report to moderator
Hpmaggie2_copy2_thumb
1040 Points

WOW! Amazing review, that’s fantastic! OK, excitement for HBP has now overtaken excitement for DH again… at least for the short-term. :) Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait! And Rhiannon don’t forget Leaky’s countdown clock is still set to the Friday release, it’s only 17 more days, for real! Whoohooooo!!!!

Posted by Headmistress LemonFaerie on June 28, 2009, 10:37 AM report to moderator
Tumblr_lof6suzoya1qzaf17o4_250_thumb
1642 Points

Oh my God Oh my God!!! This was brilliant!!! I started tearing up O_o
thank you so much for this wonderful review!!! Can’t wait!!!! HBP soon!!! finally!!! Harry Potter fans -the happiest population from today!!!

Posted by Matea on June 28, 2009, 11:20 AM report to moderator
Picture4_052_thumb
674 Points

awesome

Posted by joelface on June 28, 2009, 11:26 AM report to moderator
Dhonesheet_thumb
1661 Points

Yikes!!! I’m so excited!!! I was already really excited, but reading this review has me siked! After seeing all the trailer I think HBP is a sure bet for some kind of Special Effect Oscar, but a Best Picture nomination would be AWESOME!!

But I have a feeling the Hard-core Harry Potter fans are going to be the toughest critics. lol. Only we could find fought with a perfectly good movie.

Posted by cghambright on June 28, 2009, 12:04 PM report to moderator
Screen_shot_2011-08-05_at_5
2200 Points

OMG I can not wait!!!

Posted by Sirius17 -ROAR_ on June 28, 2009, 12:23 PM report to moderator
Ronhermione_thumb
4452 Points

cant wait!!!!!!!!!

Greenavatar_thumb
16484 Points

That is GOOD news ! If a non-HP freak liked the movie, then we are going to LOVE it !

You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

The little wall space available bore witness to Mr. Weasley's obsessions; there were several posters of cars, including one of a dismantled engine, two illustrations of postboxes he seemed to have cut out of Muggle children's books, and a diagram showing

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!