MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

LA Times Preview of Half-Blood Prince Includes New Photo of Harry, Dumbledore at Slughorn's Home

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
May 01, 2009, 06:56 PM

The LA Times is running a new preview today of the upcoming Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince that also includes a new photo of Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) and Harry (Dan Radcliffe) inside a darkened home of Slughorn.  The article contains comments from actor Dan Radcliffe and Emma Watson, as well as from Rupert Grint, who spoke about his Quidditch scenes for the movie

"I found out it was not as much fun to film as I hoped," said Grint, who was left weary and sore by the mechanized broom handle and had headaches from staring at the giant green screen that provides the backdrop canvas for computer artists to later fill in with crowds and the towering playing field. "It's going to be more fun to watch than it was to film."

The article also points out the interview with Dan Radcliffe was conducted before the delay of the film last year, and notes:

It was a brisk February afternoon in 2008, and the actor had no idea that a Christmas would come and go before "Half-Blood Prince" appeared in theaters; the sixth Potter adventure was scheduled for release last November but, to the disappointment of fans, Warner Bros. executives announced last summer that they would postpone the film for eight months to maximize its market position.

It remains to be seen whether fans will hold a grudge against the film for the delay -- many pledged to boycott it or at least skip the opening weekend to express their ire -- but it's hard to imagine the popcorn juggernaut can be slowed, much less stopped. The last film, "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," pulled in $938 million worldwide, making it the most successful edition since the first installment, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" in 2001, pulled in $974 million. The franchise has brought in close to $4.5 billion, a number that would make any Muggle studio executive believe in magic.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

47 Comments

Rh7_thumb
1046 Points

yay! comedy.
i think it’s so funny that they called her emily watson and she’s said in the past that that is one of her pet hates haha.

Posted by bec majec *roar* on May 02, 2009, 10:13 PM report to moderator
Minerva_mcgonagall_thumb
23113 Points

The latest update has Emma’s name corrected. Great article… can’t wait to see the movie!

Posted by oldenoughtoknowbetter♎ROAR♎OoM1, CW on May 02, 2009, 10:22 PM report to moderator
Fish_02_thumb
8927 Points

yay!

Posted by Gobbledygook [Sparrow] [WBM] J.O.R. on May 03, 2009, 01:43 AM report to moderator
Ronhermione_thumb
4452 Points

i luv the leaky couldron!!! soz that was random!!

L_14a5217ad3d6474c94123a84eb762af8_thumb
12100 Points

Just one of many articals that we will be seeing as Half Blood Prince gets closer and closer.

Posted by lilhpchick20 on May 03, 2009, 09:53 AM report to moderator
Harry_potter_and_his_buddies_thumb

I can NOT wait to see this movie. I was very mad when I found out that they wear postponing the movie, of course I thought of just waiting to go see it the next weekend. Well im on a count down now (74 days) still dieing to see this movie.

Posted by jessica911jc on May 03, 2009, 04:24 PM report to moderator
Casualvacanycover_2266306a_thumb
3455 Points

i would boycott….but i’ve waited to long to see this movie!

Posted by Catherine ( *SQUEE!*) on May 03, 2009, 10:48 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
771 Points

Yeah, it’s seriously gonna be great fun to watch !!

Posted by Shivi {ROAR} !! on May 04, 2009, 08:18 AM report to moderator
D474f2f9722352f367d45028747f7d7d_1562290_thumb
6690 Points

i seriously get an anxiety attack everytime i read these things….I WANT TO SEE THE MOVIE NOOWWWWW!

Voila_thumb
9765 Points

It looks a perfect shambles, and quite mysterious to boot! :D

Posted by maera-kyrie on May 04, 2009, 12:37 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
872 Points

I can’t wait for this movie!

Posted by Heavenly_Horcrux on May 04, 2009, 04:51 PM report to moderator
1_thumb
294 Points

snape .. snape .. severus snape .. .. DUMBLEDORE snape snape severus snape DUMBLEDORE hermione hermione hermione hermione hermiy

Posted by Avangelis {WBM} on May 04, 2009, 11:19 PM report to moderator
Postejeunes4_thumb
4608 Points

Yeah, I don’t think anyone is going to boycott this now. Now after everything we’ve seen about it’s awesomeness.

Posted by Boy With A Lightning Scar on May 05, 2009, 02:47 AM report to moderator
12440441_thumb
19573 Points

Great!! Yeah opefully the do do Dumbledores arm!!

Posted by R-for-H {ROAR} :D on May 05, 2009, 05:03 AM report to moderator
108_thumb
8069 Points

I don’t think I could have ever boycotted it. I am way too excited for the film.

Posted by Melinae ♥Squee♥/Professor Truffle on May 05, 2009, 01:55 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"We attacked a teacher... We attacked a teacher...," Hermione whimpered, staring at the lifeless Snape with frightened eyes. "Oh, we're going to be in so much [br]trouble --"

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!