MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

J. K. Rowling Wins Mythopoeic Society Award; Named Among 50 Best-Loved British Authors

J.K. Rowling
Posted by: Edward
August 19, 2008, 03:41 AM

There are two pieces of news online tonight regarding Harry Potter author J. K. Rowling and honors she recently received. First, the Mythopoeic Society, which is a non-profit agency promoting the study and enjoyment of mythic literature, has chosen Ms. Rowling the winner of its Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature. This award “honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.” J. K. Rowling was chosen by society members for this award which nominates and awards authors for their work annually.

On a related note, Ms. Rowling has been included on a list Britain’s best-loved authors. The Telegraph reports that Ms. Rowling came in number three on the list, with authors Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl coming in first and second. This list, created to mark the 2008 Costa Book Awards, polled adult readers on their favorite authors. Authors who made the top ten include: Jane Austen, William Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, JRR Tolkien, Agatha Christie, Stephen King, and Beatrix Potter. The full list of fifty authors can be found via this link.

Many congratulations to Jo!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent J.K. Rowling News

25 Comments

Abby
Posted by Abby on August 19, 2008, 04:08 AM report to moderator
Hufflepufflovegoodlover
Posted by Hufflepufflovegoodlover on August 19, 2008, 04:34 AM report to moderator
Agahnim
Posted by Agahnim on August 19, 2008, 04:35 AM report to moderator
Char
Posted by Char on August 19, 2008, 04:35 AM report to moderator
mary :)
Posted by mary :) on August 19, 2008, 04:55 AM report to moderator
Confederate Lady
Posted by Confederate Lady on August 19, 2008, 06:06 AM report to moderator
Eeyore
Posted by Eeyore on August 19, 2008, 08:03 AM report to moderator
pigwidgeon
Posted by pigwidgeon on August 19, 2008, 08:08 AM report to moderator
Kiwi Mc I
Posted by Kiwi Mc I on August 19, 2008, 11:44 AM report to moderator
Hedwig8
Posted by Hedwig8 on August 19, 2008, 12:04 PM report to moderator
Picazo
Posted by Picazo on August 19, 2008, 12:23 PM report to moderator
Linny
Posted by Linny on August 19, 2008, 12:46 PM report to moderator
lowerwolf
Posted by lowerwolf on August 19, 2008, 12:51 PM report to moderator
owen
Posted by owen on August 19, 2008, 01:14 PM report to moderator
Fresca
Posted by Fresca on August 19, 2008, 01:38 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!

Guess That Book

...Dobby had taken it upon himself to decorate the place for Christmas. He could tell the elf had done it, because nobody else would have strung a hundred golden baubles from the ceiling, each showing a picture of Harry's face and bearing the legend HAVE