MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Preview Screenings of "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" Canceled in Canada

OotP Film
Posted by: Edward
May 08, 2007, 05:49 PM

In an effort to crack down on pirated copies of major film releases, Warner Bros. has decided to halt preview screenings in Canada of a number of their summer films including Oceans Thirteen and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Reuters reports, the decision was made after WB became "frustrated with unauthorized camcording of its new releases in Canadian cinemas..." and not wanting more illegal copies distributed, decided that it would cancel any public preview screenings.
After many studios wanting legislation in Canada about film piracy, WB is the first to take action. WB president of domestic distribution Dan Fellman said of the decision:

"We regret having to cancel our screenings in Canada, but our studio must take steps to protect not only our branded assets but our commitment to our filmmakers and to our distributors."

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix will be released in theaters July 13.

Thanks to all who mailed and UHP.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent OotP Film News

54 Comments

Theresa
Posted by Theresa on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
anne
Posted by anne on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
ED>>WAR>>>>>>>>DD
Posted by ED>>WAR>>>>>>>>DD on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Potter Fan
Posted by Potter Fan on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
mela
Posted by mela on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Brett
Posted by Brett on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Carmen
Posted by Carmen on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
HarryJamesPotterLover
Posted by HarryJamesPotterLover on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
HarryJamesPotterLover
Posted by HarryJamesPotterLover on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"But what have you got your broom for, you haven't been flying, have you?" Harry asked.[br]"I -- well -- well, okay, I'll tell you, but don't laugh, all right?" Ron said defensively, turning redder with every second. "I -- I thought I'd try out for Gryffi

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!