MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Preview Screenings of "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" Canceled in Canada

OotP Film
Posted by: Edward
May 08, 2007, 05:49 PM

In an effort to crack down on pirated copies of major film releases, Warner Bros. has decided to halt preview screenings in Canada of a number of their summer films including Oceans Thirteen and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Reuters reports, the decision was made after WB became "frustrated with unauthorized camcording of its new releases in Canadian cinemas..." and not wanting more illegal copies distributed, decided that it would cancel any public preview screenings.
After many studios wanting legislation in Canada about film piracy, WB is the first to take action. WB president of domestic distribution Dan Fellman said of the decision:

"We regret having to cancel our screenings in Canada, but our studio must take steps to protect not only our branded assets but our commitment to our filmmakers and to our distributors."

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix will be released in theaters July 13.

Thanks to all who mailed and UHP.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent OotP Film News

54 Comments

HPFanatic
Posted by HPFanatic on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
bubkusjones
Posted by bubkusjones on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Fran
Posted by Fran on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
S.Benj
Posted by S.Benj on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Paolo
Posted by Paolo on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
CristalShandaLear
Posted by CristalShandaLear on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Roxanne
Posted by Roxanne on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Roxanne
Posted by Roxanne on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Sean
Posted by Sean on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
S.Benj
Posted by S.Benj on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Serge Gingras
Posted by Serge Gingras on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Val Honey. Canada
Posted by Val Honey. Canada on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
chrissietag
Posted by chrissietag on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Marta
Posted by Marta on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
Ronian
Posted by Ronian on June 13, 2007, 07:59 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

"How come you're not at the feast?" Harry asked.[br]"Well, I've lost most of my possessions," said Luna serenely. "People take them and hide them, you know. But as it's the last night, I really do need them back, so I've been putting up signs."